Welcome Visitor. First time here? Like what you see? Bookmark us for when you are bored, and check out 'top shots' and 'fantastic (editors choice)' in the menu above, you won't be dissapointed. Join our community! click here to sign up for an account today. Sick of this message? Get rid of it by logging-in here.



Road, rail, and trail users all share space at John Galt Park in downtown Guelph, named after the City's founder, and located mere feet away from where the city was founded on April 23, 1827.  Goderich Exeter Railway 582 has finished its work in the north end of Guelph and is returning south alongside the River Run Centre and CNR 6167, whose tender has just been prepped for application of the CNR 'Maple Leaf' herald.These grounds on the shore of the Speed River have played host to railway history for over 135 years.  With the building of the Guelph Junction Railway in 1887 (leased to the CPR), Guelph's first building and John Galt's home, known as "The Priory," was converted for use as a railway station.  A purpose it would serve until 1911 when a brick station was built further north at Eramosa Road.  The Priory would be removed during the 1920s and the railyard expanded.  After the 1988 abandonment of the CPR Goderich Subdivision north of Guelph, use of the yard diminished and much of it was removed during the early 1990s leaving the mainline, passing track, and the CPR freight shed.  The unique stone facade of the shed, originally built in 1882 as the Speed Skating Rink, and suffering a large fire in May 1991, remains today nestled amongst the trees behind 6167.  The mainline was removed during the late 90s, replaced with the Downtown Trail/Trans Canada Trail, and the passing track assumed the role of the main.
Copyright Notice: This image ©Jacob Patterson all rights reserved.



Caption: Road, rail, and trail users all share space at John Galt Park in downtown Guelph, named after the City's founder, and located mere feet away from where the city was founded on April 23, 1827. Goderich Exeter Railway 582 has finished its work in the north end of Guelph and is returning south alongside the River Run Centre and CNR 6167, whose tender has just been prepped for application of the CNR 'Maple Leaf' herald.

These grounds on the shore of the Speed River have played host to railway history for over 135 years. With the building of the Guelph Junction Railway in 1887 (leased to the CPR), Guelph's first building and John Galt's home, known as "The Priory," was converted for use as a railway station. A purpose it would serve until 1911 when a brick station was built further north at Eramosa Road. The Priory would be removed during the 1920s and the railyard expanded. After the 1988 abandonment of the CPR Goderich Subdivision north of Guelph, use of the yard diminished and much of it was removed during the early 1990s leaving the mainline, passing track, and the CPR freight shed. The unique stone facade of the shed, originally built in 1882 as the Speed Skating Rink, and suffering a large fire in May 1991, remains today nestled amongst the trees behind 6167. The mainline was removed during the late 90s, replaced with the Downtown Trail/Trans Canada Trail, and the passing track assumed the role of the main.

Photographer:
Jacob Patterson [538] (more) (contact)
Date: 08/25/2022 (search)
Railway: Goderich-Exeter (search)
Reporting Marks: GEXR 2073, QGRY 2004 (search)
Train Symbol: 582 (search)
Subdivision/SNS: GJR Goderich Sub (search)
City/Town: Guelph (search)
Province: Ontario (search)
Share Link: http://www.railpictures.ca/?attachment_id=51312
Click here to Log-in or Register and add your vote.

22 Favourites
Photographers like Gold.Log-in or Register to show appreciation
View count: 781 Views

Share this image on Facebook, Twitter or email using the icons below
Photo ID: 50021

Map courtesy of Open Street Map

Full size | Suncalc



All comments must be positive in nature and abide by site rules. Anything else may be removed without warning.

3 Comments
  1. Terrific photo of one of my all time favorite CNR steam locos. I wish she’d be pulled and run once again, but thank heavens her stack is capped and the asbestos removed. Asnow and rain protective roof is the only thing lacking.

  2. Great shot Jacob with an even more interesting back story

  3. Thanks guys. Note, not taken from the bridge, and not a drone…

Railpictures.ca © 2006-2024 all rights reserved. Photographs are copyright of the photographer and used with permission
Terms and conditions | About us